Lions NPL Program receives strong recognition from Football Queensland

With the Football Queensland 2022 Awards Night on this Friday Night (28 October), Lions FC’s NPL Program, Players and Staff have received a number of award nominations.

With a successful 2022 season behind us, this Friday Night sees the club join the rest of the football community and reflect on the successes and standout performances during a season that was heavily affected by rain and flooding.

Before the night has kicked off, our players have already received a number of awards including, Alex Fiechtner and Tegan Riding winning the NPL Men’s and NPL Women’s Golden Boot awards, along with Amy Gunston as the NPL Women’s Young Player of the Year. Our end of season awards further stretch with 14 players (6 Men, 8 Women) in the NPL Queensland Team of the Season.

Contributions inside the club will further be recognised on Friday Night as the club and our players/coaches are nominated for seven awards. Congratulations to Senior NPL Coaches, Darren Sime and Rob Askew for their Nomination as NPL Men’s and Women’s Coach of the year, Joe Duckworth and Alex Fiechtner both nominated for NPL Men’s Player of the Year, with Tegan Riding and Mariel Hecher both nominated for NPL Women’s Player of the Year. Further, U13 Boys NPL Coach, John Ogden has been nominated for Development Coach of the year, as well as the club’s Junior NPL program being nominated for Academy of the Year and Advanced Club of the year.

Brisbane City Hall at the 2021 Football in Queensland Awards. Image: Football Queensland
The 2022 Football Queensland Awards Night will be hosted this Friday, 28 October at Brisbane City Hall. Image: Football Queensland

On the nominations, club General Manager Rob Scanlon commented; ‘it is a huge pleasure to have the club, our staff and our players nominated for so many awards. It is a testament to all the hard work that has gone on behind the scenes, not just on a program point of view but the players and coaches individual hard work as well. Congratulations to all award winners and nominees, the recognition is well deserved.’

A full list of Lions FC players and staff nominated is below. The 2022 Football Queensland Awards Night will be hosted at Brisbane City Hall on Friday 28 October.

Already Awarded

  • NPL Men’s Golden Boot
    • Alex Fiechtner – 24 Goals
  • NPL Women’s Gold Boot
    • Tegan Riding – 14 Goals
  • NPL Men’s Team of the Season
    • Ethan Docherty
    • Tommy Jarrard
    • Joe Duckworth
    • Matt Ridenton
    • Alex Fiechtner
    • Andy Pengelly
  • NPL Women’s Young Player of the Year
    • Amy Gunston
  • NPL Women’s Team of the Season
    • Elli Chapple
    • Cannon Clough
    • Chelsea Blissett
    • Teagan Thompson
    • Mariel Hecher
    • Ayesha Norrie
    • Tegan Riding
    • Amy Gunston

Nomination – winner to be announced on the night

  • Academy of the Year
  • Advanced Club of the Year
  • NPL Women’s Coach of the Year
    • Rob Askew
  • NPL Men’s Coach of the Year
    • Darren Sime
  • NPL Men’s Player of the Year
    • Joe Duckworth
    • Alex Fiechtner
  • NPL Women’s Player of the Year
    • Mariel Hecher
    • Tegan Riding
  • Development Coach of the Year
    • John Ogden

Share Article

Related Articles